Craft Room: Painting . . . or what not to do

This is my first painting project ever. It has been my personal 2-day nightmare. Okay, the first day was the nightmare.

It is important to read everything you are about to buy. I knew I needed an edger. There was a handy little item that looked like a more substantial one than I was looking for. It even had on the tag it was made by women for women. I figured this meant very cool edger. It was not. I don’t know what it was meant for. It had sides on it, which made me thing it was an edger giving clean edges. In fact it was just a sponge roller paint  . . . thing. After using it the sponge would shrink just a bit (with all that paint and the pressure of moving it) that the sides would scrape down the wall. UGH.

I had to go out and get a real edger. But not until 4 hrs later. For some reason I thought I’ll just make do. My parents didn’t get that fancy edger thing until the late 80’s, I can paint through this. It was a more work than I should have done. Once I got the fancy edger product, it went quicker. Of course, I was not done.

Today I started again (10 am) and was done by 3 pm. It was a much easier day. And while it doesn’t look at all good, I was told for a first time it wasn’t bad. That made me feel a bit better.

Here are the almost finished pictures of the craft room. I will wait 48 hrs before I take the blue tape off and start moving in the furniture.

IMG_1972 IMG_1973 IMG_1975 IMG_1977

 

It’s funny how  the picture by the door looks so much lighter than the other pictures. The shade is called Pale Daffodil by Behr. The shade I expected is the one by the door. In this picture it looks light. The color you see by the windows, the bright “in your face” lemon is what it looks like in real life. Luckily, I wanted a more “In Your Face” yellow, but knew better (from past experience) to go one shade lighter.

I may put wallies up for a border, I’m not sure yet. I’m really not sure how much more money I want to sink into this. I have about $120 in it so far. Much more than I expected.

My next task is arranging the craft room. This is where the organization will really come in.